Home / AI Writing / Writesonic Review
AI Writing

Writesonic Review 2026: Pricing, Features & Honest Verdict

By Adrian Cole · Updated 26 September 2026 · 10 min read

A Research-based look at Writesonic, which now presents itself as an AI search visibility platform with an article writer built in. Worth knowing up front: there is no permanent free plan, and paid plans start at $79 a month billed annually.

Abstract navy and gold Teknexia Hub brand graphic reading 'Writesonic, Researched, Now an AI Search Platform' for the Writesonic review
Adrian Cole, Lead AI Tools Reviewer at TeknexiaHub

Adrian Cole

Reviews AI tools through documented research and hands-on testing where available · How we test →

Quick Verdict

// Research-based
★★★☆☆ 3.0 / 5
Best for: marketing teams that want AI search tracking and SEO article generation in one platform, and can budget for it · Price: No permanent free plan (free start, no card, per its pricing page) · From $79/mo billed annually

Teknexia AI Tool Evaluation Framework

This is a Research-based review. We did not use Writesonic ourselves. Every score below is judged on Writesonic's own pricing page, product pages, and blog, plus aggregated reviews from Trustpilot and Capterra and one third-party review we could read in full, not on hands-on use. Where a criterion such as ease of use would normally come from our own testing, it is assessed from documentation and what reviewers report, and the descriptions say so.

Ease of use — 7/10Assessed from reviewer reports and documentation, not direct use. Capterra shows an ease-of-use rating of 4.8, and Trustpilot reviewers praise how quickly they can produce blog drafts. A third-party review from Rankability (April 2026) also credits the in-editor optimization. We stop at 7 because the current product spans AI visibility tracking, agents, and site audits, which is more to learn than a plain writing tool.
Output quality — 6/10Assessed from reviewer reports, not our own output. Trustpilot and Capterra reviewers describe high-quality drafts, while Rankability says the optimizer focuses on keyword inclusion and quick fixes, so people who need entity-level topical depth will still want specialist tools. Writesonic's own claims about its article pipeline are marketing, and we have not verified them.
Workflow integration — 7/10Assessed from the official pricing page. Writesonic lists AI visibility tracking across ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews, an AI article writer, site audits, agentic workflows, and integrations such as Google Search Console and WordPress. Agentic workflows are limited to trial runs on the lower plans, which holds this score back.
Pricing value — 4/10Assessed from the official pricing page, read on 26 September 2026. Plans run from $79 to $399 a month billed annually, with 15 to 50 AI articles a month. That is well above what a writer looking only for drafts would expect, and Jasper's entry price in our own review is lower. The value depends on whether you actually use the AI search tracking.
Beginner friendliness — 6/10Assessed from documentation and reviewer reports. The pricing page says you can start free with no credit card, which lowers the barrier. But the product is now aimed at marketing teams, so a solo writer may find much of it beyond what they need.

Overall: 6.0/ 10

Writesonic started as an AI writing assistant, and older reviews still describe it that way. Its current pricing page is titled an "AI Search Visibility Platform," and its About page calls it "The AI Search Growth Engine." That matters for anyone reading this alongside our reviews of Jasper and Copy.ai, because it is now a different kind of product. This is our fifth review in the AI Writing category, after Jasper, Copy.ai, Grammarly, and QuillBot. We have not used Writesonic, and nothing here claims otherwise.

Before you compare prices online: Writesonic has changed its plans and its focus. Some older reviews still quote plans and prices that no longer appear on the official pricing page, and even a review from April 2026 lists plan names (Lite, Standard, Professional, Advanced) that the current page does not use. Everything on this page is taken from the pricing page as we read it on 26 September 2026.

Key Takeaways
  • According to its pricing page, Writesonic lists no permanent free plan but says you can start free with no credit card. The page does not state how long that access lasts.
  • Paid plans on the official page are $79, $199, and $399 a month billed annually, with 15, 25, and 50 AI articles a month.
  • Trustpilot shows 4.6/5 from 5,765 reviews, and Capterra shows 4.8/5 from 2,102, but many of the reviews predate the product's current AI search direction.
  • This is a Research-based review: we have not used Writesonic, and the scores rest on documentation and reviewer reports.

What Writesonic Is Now

Per its pricing page, Writesonic's plans center on tracking how a brand appears in AI answers. All three self-serve plans track ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews, and the Enterprise plan tracks all 10 AI platforms Writesonic lists. On top of tracking, the page lists AI articles, site audits, and agentic workflows meant to act on what the tracking finds. Its own FAQ answers the question of how it differs from other AI visibility tools by saying it pairs tracking with AI agents that create content, earn citations, and optimize a site.

The article writer is now one part of that bundle. Writesonic's AI Article Writer page describes an agentic pipeline aimed at ranking on Google and getting cited in AI search, and says it is not a wrapper around ChatGPT. Those are Writesonic's own claims. We can report what the company says about the product, but we cannot tell you how the articles read.

Two recent announcements on Writesonic's blog show the direction. On 11 September 2026 it introduced Prompt Targets, for tracking the questions buyers actually ask, and on 24 September 2026 it introduced Citation Decay, which shows whether a cited page is rising, holding, declining, or fading in AI answers.

Official Product Visuals

We don't show our own screenshots, because we haven't used the product. The images below were published by Writesonic itself, and they are marketing graphics that Writesonic chose, not evidence of typical results.

Official Writesonic announcement graphic showing the Citation Decay Momentum tab table of cited pages with status and citation share
OfficialWritesonic's own graphic for Citation Decay, showing its Momentum tab of cited pages. Image credit: Writesonic, writesonic.com/blog/citation-decay (24 September 2026), shown here for review and commentary. Marketing material, not our screenshot.
Official Writesonic announcement graphic showing the Prompt Targets setup panel for tracking non-branded buyer questions
OfficialWritesonic's own graphic for Prompt Targets, showing the prompt setup panel. Image credit: Writesonic, writesonic.com/blog/prompt-targets (11 September 2026), shown here for review and commentary. Marketing material, not our screenshot.
Official Writesonic AI Article Writer page card describing an agentic article pipeline built to rank on Google and get cited in AI search
OfficialThe card Writesonic uses for its AI Article Writer page, which states its own positioning. Image credit: Writesonic, writesonic.com/ai-article-writer, shown here for review and commentary. Marketing material, not our screenshot.

Pricing, Verified on the Official Page

We read Writesonic's pricing page in a browser on 26 September 2026. The plans below are the annual-billing prices it displays, and it states that annual billing saves $240, $600, and $1,200 a year on Starter, Basic, and Growth respectively.

PlanPrice (billed annually)AI articlesTracking and auditsTeam
Starter$79/mo15 per month50 prompts, 50 answers tracked daily · 10 site audits of 100 pages each1 user, 1 project
Basic$199/mo25 per month100 prompts, 300 answers daily · 20 audits of 1,200 pages each2 users, 1 project
Growth$399/mo50 per month200 prompts, 600 answers daily · 50 audits of 2,500 pages each · sentiment analysis3 users, 2 projects
EnterpriseCustomCustomAll 10 AI platforms, full Action Center, SSO/SAML, SOC 2 Type IICustom users and projects

Source: writesonic.com/pricing, read 26 September 2026. The page shows agentic workflows as limited to trial runs (10, 50, and 100) on Starter, Basic, and Growth. Its FAQ says Growth plans can add 20 articles for $100, and that upgrades apply instantly while downgrades and cancellations take effect at the next billing cycle, with a 7-day refund. Plans and prices change, so check the page before subscribing.

Is There a Free Plan?

Not a permanent one, going by the pricing page: its plans start at Starter, and none is labeled free. The page does say "Start free. No credit card needed," and its FAQ answers "Do I need a credit card to start?" with "No. Sign up and explore Writesonic with full access." The page we read does not say how long that access lasts, so we can't tell you whether it is a trial of a set number of days or something else. Rankability's April 2026 review also says a trial is available without a card, citing Writesonic's documentation.

We did not sign up, because we chose the Research-based method for this review. If you want to see it yourself, the no-card start is the low-risk way to do it, and the pricing page also states a 7-day refund policy for paid plans.

What Other Users Say

Third-party reviews

What Other Users Say

★ 4.6/5 on Trustpilot, based on 5,765 reviews, with 87% at five stars and 2% at one star. Capterra shows 4.8/5 from 2,102 reviews.

In a Research-based review this section carries extra weight, because reviewer experience is one of our main sources. The reviews Trustpilot features praise how quickly Writesonic produces blog drafts, its ease of use, and fast responses from the team. On Capterra, the platform scores 4.8 for ease of use and 4.6 for customer service, and one reviewer describes drafts that need minimal edits. One Capterra reviewer from October 2024 complained about the monthly limit on long-form articles, which is the kind of limit the current plans still apply. Two cautions: many of the reviews we can see date from 2024 and early 2026, before the current AI search direction, so they may describe an older product, and Trustpilot notes the company has not replied to negative reviews.

Sources: Trustpilot and Capterra (both retrieved 26 September 2026). We could not retrieve G2 figures, so we do not cite them.

Writesonic vs Jasper vs Copy.ai

These three overlap on AI content for marketers, but they no longer aim at quite the same buyer. The Jasper and Copy.ai columns use our own published reviews, with Jasper tested hands-on and Copy.ai Research-based, so the methods differ.

Criteria Writesonic Jasper Copy.ai
Our framework score6.0/107.4/105.4/10
How we assessed itResearch onlyHands-on testResearch only
PositioningAI search visibility platform with an article writerContent platform, best for teams publishing weeklyGTM workflow platform, best for teams running GTM workflows
Entry price$79/mo billed annually$59/moFrom $29/mo (5 seats)
Free accessNo permanent free plan; free start with no card, per its pricing page7-day trial, credit card requiredNo free plan
Trustpilot4.6/5 from 5,765 reviews (26 Sep 2026)3.3/5 from 4,146 reviews (28 Jul 2026)1.8/5 from 196 reviews (28 Jul 2026)

Jasper and Copy.ai figures come from our July 2026 reviews and may have changed since. Writesonic figures come from the sources cited on this page.

Pros

  • AI search tracking, an article writer, and site audits bundled in one platform, per the official pricing page
  • The pricing page says you can start free without a credit card
  • Strong review scores: 4.6/5 on Trustpilot and 4.8/5 on Capterra, with 4.8 for ease of use on Capterra
  • A 7-day refund policy is stated on the pricing page
  • Active development, with new features announced on 11 and 24 September 2026

Cons

  • Plans start at $79 a month billed annually, more than Jasper's entry price in our own review
  • Agentic workflows are limited to trial runs on Starter, Basic, and Growth
  • Article volume is capped at 15, 25, or 50 a month, with extra articles costing more
  • Older reviews and third-party articles may quote plans that no longer exist
  • Much of the product is aimed at marketing teams tracking AI search, not solo writers

FAQ

Does Writesonic have a free plan?

According to its pricing page, no permanent free plan is listed. The page says you can start free with no credit card, but it does not state how long that access lasts, so check it on the site.

How much does Writesonic cost?

Per the official pricing page read on 26 September 2026: Starter $79/mo, Basic $199/mo, and Growth $399/mo, all billed annually, plus a custom Enterprise plan.

Is Writesonic still an AI writing tool?

It still includes an AI article writer, but its pricing page now presents the product as an AI search visibility platform, with brand tracking across ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews at its core.

Is this review based on hands-on testing?

No. It is Research-based: built from Writesonic's pricing page, product pages, and blog, plus Trustpilot and Capterra reviews and one third-party review. We have not used Writesonic.

Is Writesonic better than Jasper?

They aim at different buyers now. Jasper scores higher in our reviews (7.4 vs 6.0) and starts at a lower price, while Writesonic adds AI search tracking. The scores rest on different methods, so treat the gap with care.

Check Writesonic's Current Pricing

Because plans and prices have changed, check the current pricing page before deciding, and note the 7-day refund policy it states.

See Writesonic pricing →

Writesonic runs an official affiliate program, but we are not enrolled and have no tracked link, so this is a plain, untracked link.

Leave a Comment